EPA Appoints New Members for the Toxic Substances Control Act Science Advisory Committee on Chemicals

Your substances


On June 15, 2021, EPA appointed nine new members to serve on the Toxic Substances Control Act Science Advisory Committee on Chemicals (TSCA SACC). Additionally, a new Chair was appointed, and seven existing members were reappointed. These appointments, made by the EPA Administrator, follow public calls for nominations and public comment periods on the potential candidates.

Members of the TSCA SACC serve staggered terms of appointment, generally of three years. They possess expertise in scientific and technical fields relevant to chemical risk assessment and pollution prevention including human health and ecological risk assessment and chemical exposure to susceptible life stages and subpopulations. In addition to scientific expertise, members also have background and experiences that will contribute to the diversity of scientific viewpoints on the committee, including professional experiences in government, public health, industry, and other groups.

The TSCA SACC serves as a primary scientific peer review mechanism of EPA’s Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention and is structured to provide independent scientific advice and recommendations to EPA on the scientific basis for risk assessments, methodologies, and pollution prevention measures and approaches for chemicals regulated under TSCA.

A list of all current members and their biographies can be found at the TSCA Scientific Peer Review Committees website.

SOURCE: US EPA Newsletter 13.7.2021


Related News