EU alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Your substances


On 9 December 2019, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2019/2109 renewing the sanctions for a further year, until 12 December 2020.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this declaration.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.



Related News